Business & Technology Nexus

Dave Stephens on technology and business trends

Emptoris – Quick Correction

with 2 comments

I read a recent summary from Jason Busch on Emptoris’ (wildly successful?) strategy and was confused by the “Oracle” part. Oracle has 3 Procurement product lines – Oracle E-Business Suite, Peoplesoft Enterprise, and JD Edwards. Each of these products lines are, to my knowledge, being maintained by the Big O ad infinitum. Plus, each is receiving at least some new features pre-“Fusion”. Fusion, let’s remember, is where all the suites magically merge into 1 mega-suite that “tastes great and is less filling.”

Now, perhaps Fusion will be a big mess & perhaps it may never come close to coming out on schedule, but those are suppositions at this point. So I can’t seem to connect the dots and get the “Oracle is end-of-life’ing some of its historic product lines”. If there are upgrade paths to Fusion that’s not quite the same thing.

The other thing I’d say is that Oracle is still packed with talent in Procurement. I think it’s silly to suggest they’ve “lost their way.” They’ll do just fine… So, while on the one hand I think it would be normal and customary for Emptoris to sell into an Oracle account, I’d need more evidence of a lot of “rip and replace” Emptoris wins.

My gut says it’s probably just a little overspin on the marketing messages.. As I’ve offered in previous posts, I wish Emptoris and Team Avner the best of luck.

Written by Dave Stephens

10/9/06 9:03 PM at 9:03 pm

Posted in Opinion

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dave,

    Thanks for the note on this … in my post, I was relaying what Emptoris had to say in that section, not analyzing it myself. Regardless, we can all agree that Oracle customers do not have the same partner loyalty as SAP customers, as Oracle does not have the same partner certification or marketing programs to drive partner support.

    Jason Busch

    10/10/06 5:55 AM at 5:55 am

  2. No doubt Jason – thanks for the comment.

    Dave Stephens

    10/10/06 4:49 PM at 4:49 pm


Leave a Reply

